Main : News

Church of the Holy Sepulchre: What is it?

, 16:49
0 1508

there is Probably no Christian in the world of a man who has not heard about the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ on mount Calvary. Us today is the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, which is the main Shrine of all Christians on the entire planet.

Under the vault of this Shrine is the scene of the Death of Jesus Christ - Calvary and the place of His Resurrection Edicule. Therefore, this Temple has a double name-the Church of the Resurrection and the Holy Sepulcher. Under the arches of this building are 6 Christian churches: Catholic, Orthodox, Coptic, Armenian, Syriac-Maronite and Ethiopian.

But for any pilgrim of the Main Shrine is still the Holy Sepulchre, which is located directly in the Rotunda of the Church of the Resurrection. By the way, pilgrims consider their trip incomplete if they do not .


the Church of the Holy Sepulchre is divided into aisles, which, in turn, belong to different Christian denominations:

  1. the Stone of Unction. It is located right at the entrance to the Main Shrine of all Christians. In this place, with the righteous Nicodemus and Joseph laid the lifeless body of the son of God immediately after its removal from the cross, and then anointed Jesus with perfume and wrapped it in a Shroud;
  2. Calvary. It is a place of death and the Crucifixion of the Lord;
  3. the Place of women. Here John and the Holy women watched the Crucifixion of Jesus;
  4. the Tomb of the son of God. It is located in the center of the rotunda and includes 2 separate rooms: burial chamber and the chapel of the angel;
  5. Carved directly into the rock tomb of Joseph of Arimathea. It is located to the South of the Tomb of Jesus;
  6. "don't touch Me". The Son of God immediately after the Resurrection and appearance to Mary Magdalene. Then He said to Mary: "touch Me Not";
  7. the Pillar of the Flagellation. This column is considered, which was tied Christ then suffered;
  8. the Wailing Chapel and the Prison of Jesus;
  9. the Chapel of the centurion (centurion) Longinus;
  10. the Chapel of Lots;
  11. the Cave of the finding of the Holy cross and the Chapel of SV. Elena;
  12. the Chapel of the Thorny Wreath and the Flagellation;
  13. the Chapel of Adam;
  14. the Chapel, the Lord's Brother James, and the 40 Martyrs.

Translated by "Yandex.Translate":

Author: Artlife
0 (votes: 0)

Read also: